Format: LP, Vinyl

In stock

Release date: 27 Mar 2020
Format: LP, Vinyl
Grade: New (About gradings)
SKU: 55706
Bookmark and Share

Ninth album from soul/jazz chanteuse Robin Mckelle, ‘Alterations’ is a set of covers of the likes of Joni Mitchell, Adele, Nina Simone and Janis Joplin. McKelle gives each song given a totally different reading to the original version: Dolly Parton’s ‘Jolene’ is given a southern soul touch, Janis Joplin’s wish-list ‘Mercedes Benz’ is another southern country/soul number while Nina Simone’s ‘Don’t Explain’ and Lana Del Ray’s ‘Don’t Explain’ or more pleading in tone. Sade’s ‘No Ordinary Love’ is given an inventive interpretation, Joni Mitchell’s ‘The River’, Adele’s ‘Rolling In The Deep’, Amy Winehouse’s ‘Back To Black’ and Carole King’s ‘You’ve Got A Friend’ are also covered. The real standout on the album is the stunning jazz vocal cut ‘Head high’ – the only original composition on the album…check it out!

Track listings:


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Alterations”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.