(1 customer review)


Format: CD

In stock

Release date: 12 Feb 2021
Format: CD
Grade: New (About gradings)
Number of discs: 1
SKU: 101716
Bookmark and Share

Immaculately curated set of releases from the Colemine stable, this 22 track offering gives us a broad span of styles and moods, from the Budios band-like Ironsides’ brooding ‘Sommer’ to the pleading Low Rider gem ‘What’s His Name’ from Thee Sinseers. The other era sounding ‘Standing With You’ from the Reasonaires, the pulsating Afro-Funker (albeit with a bit of surf thrown in) ‘Adonai’ from Ikebe Showdown, the driving thumoping dancer ‘More Than A Memory’ from Ben Pirani and the rubbery funk of The Winston Brothers’ ‘Winston Theme’ further highlight how diverse the styles are under the broad umbrella of the imprint. The summery gospel of ‘Nothing But His Love’ from The Harlem Gospel Travelers, Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio’s more than accomplished cover of ‘Inner City Blues’ and the pleading bluesy ballad ‘Here We Are’ from Dojo cuts feat Carlton Jumel Smith also shine a light on the stunning cuts here. The Monophonics offer us a striped back take on ‘It’s Only Us’, the slick ‘Baby Girl’ from Young Gun Silver Fox has a 70s yacht soul feel while Kendra Morris’ ‘This Life’ has a more contemporary feel. Expansive set that will take on a few musical journeys: enjoy the ride!

Track listings:


  1. Steven Lawson

    A great album full of color. No paint will run out. My eyes awoken to the sound we need. Fun,sexy and right up my ally.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.