The Congregation


Format: LP, Vinyl


Out of stock

Format: LP, Vinyl
Grade: New (About gradings)
SKU: 54829
Bookmark and Share

Johnny Griffin was an under-rated tenor saxophonist, who recorded many fine albums and had a lovely well-rounded sound.  The Congregation was his third and last Blue Note recording as leader. It dates from 23rd October 1957.  He leads a quartet with Sonny Clark on piano, Paul Chambers on bass and Kenny Dennis on drums.  ‘The Congregation’ is the opening track and it has that ‘come to church’ feel.  It is uplifting and joyous with Griffin in fine form.  The joyful feeling continues on ‘The Latin Quarter’ that possesses an endearing poise and grace. It is strong Blues (in a Jazz sense) whose Latin influence is negligible at best.  The Tommy Dorsey classic ‘I’m Glad There Is You’ is benefits from some soulful tenor work.  Griffin blows hard and then Sonny Clark adds a touch of classiness. ‘Main Spring’, the second Griffin composition is a bright and breezy number that features a bowed bass solo from Paul Chambers.  The standard ‘It’s You Or No One’ is given the Hard Bop treatment and develops into a compelling groove that characterises that style.  The album’s final track is a vibrant version of Johnny Mercer and Victor Schertzinger’s ‘I Remember You’.  Griffin expresses himself beautifully.  ‘The Congregation’ is a strong set and is a reminder of just how strong a player he was.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Congregation”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You may also like…