Forward Motion


Format: CD

In stock

Format: CD
Grade: New (About gradings)
Number of discs: 1
SKU: 102368
Bookmark and Share

Output Input is the band put together by Bassist/Producer Melvin Lee Davis who has worked with Chaka Khan, Will Downing, Lalah Hathaway, George Benson, George Duke and many others. The album ‘Forward Motion’ is one of the best new soul albums of 2023 with full instrumentation and good singers and has topped the UK Soul Chart.

It includes the single ‘Here We Go Again’ a version of the Isley Brothers Rare Groove classic ft Audrey Wheeler-Downing. O’Bryan recuts his early 80’s two step classic ‘Doin Alright’ which sounds fresher with a full band behind it, and more sympathetic instrumentation than the original version.

Antonio McClendon has a very similar soulful vocal style to Luther Vandross and he sings on the upbeat ‘Smilin Faces’, ‘Don’t Be Scared’, and ‘I’m In Love’, the mid tempo ‘Time Of Our Lives’ and ballads ‘True Love’ and ‘Someone I Used To Love’, all songs which you could imagine the great man could have sung himself.  Katie Holmes-Smith takes lead on the bright uptempo ‘Really No Chance’ another winner on this really strong album which will appeal to followers of Expansion’s Luxury Soul or Soul Togetherness series.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Forward Motion”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.