Format: CD

See all of this week’s releases here

In stock

Release date: 7 Sep 2018
Format: CD
Grade: New (About gradings)
SKU: 100825
Bookmark and Share

Two years after her much acclaimed ‘Soul Eyes’ debut album Nashville Singer, Songwriter, pianist Kandace Springs returns with a new 13 track album that fuses original compositions with choice cover versions. The organic, percussion driven ‘Don’t Need The Real Thing’ is a stripped back beat ballad that gently ebbs, ‘Breakdown’ has a more emphatic, modern soul vibe that reminds of the likes of Rag ‘N Bone Man (unsurprisingly ‘Breakdown was co-written by Jamie Hartman who produced the hit ‘Human’) while the moody, dusty drum machine driven ‘Piece Of Me’ has a Sade vibe. The use of the drum machine on her cover of ‘People Make The World Go Round’ lends it a mid-70s ghetto lounge feel while the supper club vibe of the slowie ‘Unsophisticated’ is graced by Roy Hargrove’s breathy trumpet. Springs yet again delves into a different kind of territory with the drama filled, Winehouse styled ‘Love Sucks’, her version of Roberta Flack’s ‘The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face’ is a brave move while the restrained soul/R&B of ‘Fix Me’ again ploughs a different furrow.

Track listings:


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Indigo”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.