Mr Mean/Gold


Format: CD

Notes: (2Cd)

Format: CD
Grade: New / null (About gradings)
Number of discs: 2
SKU: 98598
Bookmark and Share

Gold dates from 1976 and was actually a compilation of the Ohio Players’ tracks from the albums ‘Skin Tight’, ‘Fire’, ‘Honey’ and ‘Contradiction’. ‘Love Rollercoaster’ is probably the biggest tune on the four albums, while ‘Gold’ did achieve gold selling status at the time. Other highlights include the stop-start funk of ‘Far East Mississippi’, the slick groove of ‘Skin Tight’, ‘Jive Turkey’ and ‘Who’d She Coo’. ‘Mr Mean’ was a 1977 soundtrack album of the same name, commissioned by Fred Willliamson. The uptempo title track and the pacey ‘Fight Me, Chase Me’ have that classic Blaxploitation feel, ‘The Big Score’ has a tricky rhythm while ‘Mr Magic’ is a slick dancer that closes in on the disco sound. ‘Good Luck Charm’ is an epic near 10 minute odyssey of slow burn spacey soul: really good laid back grooves and an antidote to the frantic tracks before it!

Track listings:


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mr Mean/Gold”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.