The Dreaming Jewels


Format: CD

Out of stock

Format: CD
Grade: New (About gradings)
SKU: 101366
Bookmark and Share

Greg Foat joins forces with a stellar line up including Binker Golding on Tenor Saxophone, Malcolm Catto on drums and Hugh Harris on Guitar to deliver the utterly sublime ‘The Dreaming Jewels’, an 8-track voyage into groove based jazz and lingering spiritual landscapes that pushes its way into the higher echelons of jazz releases for 2019. The lazy tempo of ‘Sapphire Dreams’ chimes in with a Liston-Smith style metronomic triangle before the keys and sax kick in and transport us into the haze of summer, ‘Eric’s Breakdown’ is a stripped back, percussion heavy groove that has some wonderfully evocative live studio sounds while the pacey, driving fusion of ‘The Door Into Summer’ brings us back to the fuller sound of the whole band on a tune that builds and builds. The thumping black jazz of ‘Not That It Makes Any Difference’ and the urgent, driving groove of ‘This Is Not Necessarily My Answer, but’ are absolutely stunning while the more ambient, spiritual ‘Lake Kussharo’ and the floating title track are also brilliant. Don’t miss the Afro-Cuban swagger of ‘Kushiro River’. This is a truly essential album and crowns an amazing and highly productive year for Greg Foat.

Track listings:


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Dreaming Jewels”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.